whatever comes to mind…

A foolish genius I am

Oh my word – could my life be any more complicated? Why can I not follow the advice that I would so easily give to others? Am I doomed to torture myself for the rest of my life because I am too stubborn to use my own advice? Am I the guinea pig that has to test the advice that I give others? I seem so capable of solving other people’s problems and so incapable of recognizing mine. 

I have a the perfect solution to the problem I am currently having and I know that anyone besides myself would see that logically I am right and would follow this advise, but not me… don’t I trust my own judgment? Don’t I like myself enough to follow the right path?

It was once explained to me like this; your problems are harder to solve because you are so close to them, it’s like having your nose up against a brick wall 20 metres long and trying to see the ends, it’s only when you step away from the wall that this happens and the further you are from that wall the smaller it looks. That is probably the most true piece of information I have every received in my life. And I see that as a good enough excuse to not follow my own advice.

In the book “The little prince” By Antoine De Saint-Exupe’ry, there is a line that reads:

 “That is the hardest thing of all. It is much harder to judge yourself than to judge others. If you succeed in judging yourself, it’s because you’re truly a wise man.”

If that had read: “that is the hardest thing of all. It is harder to solve your own problems than to solve others problems. If you succeed in solving yours, it’s because you’re truly a wise man” then I would most certainly avoid therapy at all costs in fear of being committed. For truly when it comes to my own problems I am a fool who does not trust my own wisdom.

Comments on: "A foolish genius I am" (4)

  1. So true – to be honest with ourselves seems hardest when trying to apply our advice we know will work if those we give it to just use it. You are quiet a writer – cool.

  2. Like Minded said:

    I agree. You are very skilled with words and i love your point of view. Dead honest, simple, to the point and fun to read. Keep it up and this blog will become popular. Even though, you wish me not to send it around ;-(

    I am sure you have good reason to hide but I personaly dont see why. Well have fun with the blog hun 😉 We support it 100%

Leave a Reply

